Student Life
Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Belonging

DA Has Applied to be Designated as a No Place for Hate School

No Place for Hate is a national student-led initiative for K-12 schools committed to creating sustainable change that leads to an improved school climate. Participating schools can incorporate anti-bias and anti-bullying resources within their existing programming to form one powerful message that all students have a place to belong.  

DA believes that having a school community where students feel safe and respected is an important foundation for their academic success. The No Place for Hate framework supports DA's commitment to celebrating diversity, promoting respect for differences, and challenging bias and bullying at all levels.
Since the program was launched in 1999, more than 1,800 schools across the country have joined the No Place for Hate movement.

DA has formed a student and faculty committee to lead our school through this process.  Each division, from grades six through 12, has student representatives nominated and approved by division deans. Joining these students are Sallie Mesker and Olivia Jennings (DA Elementary), Hannah Crawford (DA Lower School), Russ Mowry (DA High School), Philippe Ernewein (DA Administration), Katie Bradford and Kristy Vance (Co-Coordinators).

To become a truly safe environment is a community responsibility. Students, faculty, and staff are asked to sign a pledge to promote a positive, inclusive culture. There is a pledge for elementary students, middle school, and high school students. You can help by signing our No Place for Hate poster in the lobby of the DA Administration Building the next time you are on campus as a show of support for this program.

You can also practice No Place for Hate at home! For family resources on challenging bullying and bias, visit this link

With your help, we will make our school community a safe and welcoming space for all.

Learn more about other DA Groups here.